“Muffins”: Starring, Zucchini

Tonight was the night.

I was going to make Zucchini Muffins; recipe courtesy of the Clean Blog. (http://blog.cleanprogram.com/a-clean-gluten-free-girls-zucchini-muffins/)

The recipe seemed easy enough, and we finally had all of the ingredients to make something delicious.

Fast forward about an hour, and they are completely done, and smell super delicious. Caleb is willing to wait until they cool (family members eating baked goods, especially chocolate chip cookies, as soon as they hit the cooling rack is one of my biggest pet peeves. *ahem,* I’m talking about you, little sister), but then we will devour them with complete abandon. A few things about my zucchini muffin experience:

  1. Zucchinis are hard to track down. Maybe it’s because I went to both Giant and Wegman’s at a fairly late hour, or because people were stocking up on zucchinis to get them through the winter storm, but I finally found one at Trader Joe’s.
  2. Almond. Flour. Is. So. Expensive. I used almost the whole bag of almond flour, and it cost me a whole leg. I’m still not sure if it was worth it. Once I eat a muffin, I’ll let you know.
  3. Coconut Oil is strange and expensive.
  4. Shredding zucchini is a terrifying ordeal. My fingers were almost sliced multiple times.
  5. When they tell you your muffins will look like this:
    The muffin picture from the website.

    The muffin picture from the website.

    They will actually look like this:
    The muffins I made on my new owl plate.

    The muffins I made on my new owl plate.

    5. I am officially a fan of chia seed gel, simply because I can sing the Chia Pet jingle, and because chia seed gel is so unique. I like unique things. It also takes seconds to make, and is a great egg replacer in baking recipes.

*Side Note*: My muffins are significantly more brown because I added 2 Tablespoons of coconut sugar, which apparently makes everything very, very brown. I also made Salmon & Asparagus Salad with Pesto, and let’s just say – IT WAS EVEN BETTER THAN LANTERN SOUP. So go, dear reader. Go and make a salmon salad for your loved ones. You won’t regret it. Here is a picture of my finished work:

I call this "Miracle on a Plate."

I call this “Miracle on a Plate.”

*Update*: The muffins were a smashing success. 

Happy Zucchini-ing!

-Kelly

5 thoughts on ““Muffins”: Starring, Zucchini

  1. Walmart has coconut oil! It is cheaper than most places for sure…you can also make your own amond flour so it won’t cost you a whole leg. I will send you a link. Also, your blog made me tired just reading about all that you are accomplishing! It also made me ashamed of the meals I put on our table…I love you and I am praying for you, married girl!!

  2. Ooh! I’ll have to check it out! We’re planning to go Whole Foods this weekend too, so I’ll have to see how much they charge. Making almond flour would work, but almonds are also expensive. Ugh! Someone should give me free food to cook with. haha 🙂 And, I’m accomplishing very little. I just write well.

  3. I haven’t shopped at Whole Foods in years…Emily is the only child of ours who got the good stuff:-) They were pretty pricey, not sure that has changed. Do you have Aldi by you? They have almonds cheap, and every so often will have neat natural/organic stuff. And you are a wonderful writer!

    • I feel like as long as you are buying “Organic,” you are going to pay horribly expensive prices. We spent $180 on one week of food, when we’re used to spending $80 every two weeks. Ugh! Aldi is amazing, and I miss it, but I feel like the produce is kind of iffy there, and usually seems to go bad faster than vegetables bought at other stores. But I’ll definitely be looking for almonds the next time I go food shopping there. Haha, Emily, you lucky duck!

Leave a Reply

