Apple Chips are labor intensive.

My Clean adventures today consisted of:

  •  Making turkey burgers with avocado for lunch. Caleb decided to be fancy and use a ‘lettuce bun,’ but I tried it, and lettuce is just…well, lettuce.
  • Broccoli Soup. While I slurped my green creation, I was really missing cheddar cheese, sour cream, and bread. I miss bread. I also thought of one of my favorite SNL skits. (http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/920731/)

*side note: as I am writing this, Caleb is singing a song to our cat, Milo, in “meows.”* and finally,

  • Apple Chips.

All of the recipes I found online said I should use parchment paper, and to slice the apples with a mandolin slicer. I knew we should have put a mandolin slicer on our wedding registry. (Too bad I used the rest of our Macy’s Gift Card on clothes. I’m not really sorry about that. I love clothes.)

I had neither of those things, so I sliced two apples as thinly as I could with my flimsy steak knife that was on our registry, put the apple pieces on aluminum foil, and popped them in the oven for 2 hours at 200 degrees.

In the end, they actually came out crispy, but stuck to the aluminum foil like that kid’s tongue stuck to the metal pole in A Christmas Story. 

They weren’t hard to make, but I felt like I lost a lot of apple chip casualties to the aluminum foil.   Tomorrow is our last day on the Elimination Diet, and Saturday we start the actual cleanse! Woo hoo!

One week down, and three more to go. Lord, help us all.

-Kelly

3 thoughts on “Apple Chips are labor intensive.

  1. Not sure if elimination dieting is what Caleb needs. May not find the boy if he loses weight. Same goes for you lady. Now, this Fat Bastard could eliminate pounds. Do share the elimination with me.love you both.

    • Ahahaha poor Caleb. He’s skinny, but thankfully this isn’t really a weight loss program. Hopefully he won’t lose more weight – I can’t have him withering away. Love you, Uncle Sam!

Leave a Reply

