party planning, shmarty planning.

Things that have become more apparent in the last 24 hours:

  1. I am not a planner.
  2. Planning gives me anxiety.
  3. Etsy somehow gets away with charging innocent party planners crazy amounts of money for things that could be made at home.
  4. I don’t have time to make decorations.
  5. I am a procrastinator.
  6. I have become my mother, but she is still a better party planner than I am.

I thought it would be nice to be in three weddings this summer. Somewhere along the way, I forgot all the things I asked my bridesmaids to do & buy. I am now reaping the consequences. It was as if my heart punched my brain when it began to scream, “wait! no! don’t say yes! that means three bridesmaids dresses!” Oh, heart. You just have so much love to give.

In all honesty, I am deeply honored that my friends want to share their special days with me. And I am equally happy that I can throw a bridal shower for one of these ladies – I just wish that I was better at planning. But let’s face it, it’s definitely not my forte. Decision-making makes me break into a cold sweat. Oh, and let’s not forget to add “perfectionist” to that list.

I have all of these grand ideas; an exotic cheese display, a photo booth, bouncy castle… You’re telling me I can’t do these things for my friend?! BUT IT NEEDS TO BE THE BEST DAY OF HER (single) LIFE. Why play the toilet paper wedding dress game when you can eat a cupcake in a bouncy castle? Someone save me.

Leave a Reply

