Milo eats a carrot

I asked myself today if I’ve taken on too much.

I have a part-time job. I go to school full-time. I have two babysitting gigs, and just took on another. I’m going to be a bridesmaid (x3) this summer, and I’m planning a Bridal Shower that is supposed to take place next weekend. I volunteer on Monday nights for a local ESL class as well as for an inclusion program through the YMCA. I am trying to plan a missions trip to Peru. On top of that, I’m a wife, and I have a cat. Milo definitely makes things stressful. Just kidding…he’s a joy!

Just look at this picture of him eating a carrot:

milo eating a carrot

He didn’t really eat it, but it’s still cute.

A tiny part of me felt super overwhelmed after writing that paragraph. A huge part of me felt incredibly proud that I am 22, and have a good work ethic (thanks, mom & dad). Overall, I just feel really blessed that I have the time and energy and support to accomplish all of these things.

Because of this plethora of responsibility, I have a legitimate reason to forgo cooking fancy meals, and to forget our laundry for just another week.

It gives me the ability to use the excuse “I’m too busy,” with pride & honesty.

“I just don’t have time for you. I really don’t.”

And then I realize this isn’t the way things should be.

I realize I am addicted to applying for Care.com jobs.

I realize if I am not constantly “busy,” I adopt a state of laziness that would make even the fattest sloth shake its head in embarrassment.

I realize I need to learn how to say “no” to people and things that want to impose on my time.

I realize it’s okay to take a day off…and that there is a significant difference between being busy and being productive.

Maybe…just maybe…I’ll remember this tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

