April

Image

april 2, 2014

It might be cliche to say, “I can’t believe how fast this year is flying by!” But I’m going to say it anyway. I can’t believe how fast this year is flying by! April first has already come and gone, in two months Caleb and I will have been married for One Year, and I am one month closer to my Senior Year.

*An angel just swooped down & started singing the Hallelujah Chorus*

Yesterday my professor started our Classroom Management lecture by bringing up the idea of “being” rather than “doing.” As Christians, we often get caught up in the “doing.” What am I doing today that will make people think I’m a Christian? Am I reading my Bible enough? Am I praying long enough? Have I responded to at least one altar call this semester?

We become legalistic and judge one another based on what we outwardly observe. But ultimately, what is the use of these “good deeds” if our actions do not align with what we are? As my professor so perfectly stated, I can do kind things, but not be a kind person. I can attend a Christian college, but my thoughts and private actions can prove that I am not, in fact, a follower of Christ.

This has become my mantra, if you will, for April.

I want to be a “Be-er” and not just a “Do-er.”

The title of my blog is “I Am Kelly.” Its purpose is to express to the world who I am and what I do.

But who, exactly, am I? What kind of person have I become?

This April, I want to be:

  1. Kind.
  2. Generous.
  3. Encouraging.
  4. Transparent.
  5. A generator of truth.

I want to be kind even when I begin to dislike the human race, generous when I feel the most in need, encouraging when I am discouraged, transparent when I want to hide, and a generator of truth when the truth has the potential to break friendships and make me feel despised, isolated, and alone.

Let my heart be a reflection of my outward self, and let it be beautiful.

4 thoughts on “April

  1. HAHA Daddy! This is a serious post! 😉 I’m a sweet plum.

    Mommy – I love you too! I’m glad you’re finally reading my blog again. 😉

  2. Pingback: Senior Year |

Leave a Reply

