Today at Work:

Eddie: “Miss Kelly, Eddie doesn’t exist anymore. I’m a sandwich.”   Nate: “Miss Kelly, are you married to my dad?” Me: “Uh…nope.” Nate: “Phew, that was a close one!”   Later on..   Nate: “Miss Kelly, is that your son?” Me: “No, I don’t have any children.” Nate: “But you’re just so old!”   Little #1: Sometimes I fly like an eagle. Little #2: Well, my grandma can talk to bugs.  

Sometimes I wish I could quit my job, but days like today help me remember how much joy I get out of these littles.

 Some days it’s hard to have patience, and I wonder what these parents do at home… if anything at all.

If they truly understood how crucial their role is, they wouldn’t leave their children from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Twelve, long, grueling hours.

Playing with recycled toys gets old, and snack time will never compare to being at home with mom.

But then I wonder if I’ll ever be one of those parents – working two jobs so that my child can have new shoes or a new ballet tutu, or something as simple and necessary as a home-cooked meal, and relying on daycare for peace of mind.

 Lord, I hope not. 

Putting myself in their shoes makes me feel bad for being judgmental, and I attempt to muster up as much grace as I can. This could be me, and I am sure these parents would rather be home with their children instead of working twelve, long, grueling hours with their respective employers. But it’s not, and I am grateful.

I will be honest and admit that my frustrations and stress about this job often have little or nothing to do with the children and their quirks, or the parents that tend to pick up their children way too late, but rather the people I work with; people that don’t care as much as they should, and don’t really want to be there.

Everything within me wants to scream:

“Leave! Take your bitterness away from these little hearts and minds.”

I love these littles, and every time I begin to dread going to work (sleeping in every morning sounds so much better), I remember that they need me.

They need me to speak love, and joy, and peace, and life into their lives, because Lord only knows what they are being told at home. I wonder if anyone tells these tiny humans that they are loved, and that they matter. I wonder if they know how much potential they have, and that their dreams, and goals, and desires are valid, even if they have only lived four short years on this Earth.

I tend to forget that this job is temporary, and because of this, I need to make every second count.

6 thoughts on “Today at Work:

    • Mmhmm, I need to remember that when I get frustrated. I’m definitely working on showing grace & mercy because I am sure that I will need it when I become a momma.

  1. Taking these 12 foster classes has given me a new pair of eyes for child-parent relationships. As a future foster/adoptive parent, I’ve been gearing myself up for handling a child with severe trauma and the accompanying emotional (and perhaps physical) scars. Something our teacher keeps bringing up is the “Wal-Mart Mom.” She says ‘do you ever remember going to Wal-Mart and seeing the single mom with the eight kids running circles around her whilst screaming? Do you remember thinking to yourself ‘yeesh, get it together lady!’ Well you’re going to be that person now!”

    It’s easy for me to judge other people’s circumstances, especially when it comes to parenting because I think I know how to parent. And yet, how many kids do I have? How many times have I had to deal with a child with special needs? It’s harder these days not to want to think we know what’s best for someone else, but if I’ve learned anything it’s that I am no better than anyone else.

    Regardless, wonderful writing style; so refreshing!

  2. Absolutely. It’s so easy to be judgmental towards others, when I haven’t even experienced the season of life that they are in. I can just see myself in 10 years, being featured in the newest “People of Wal-Mart” video.
    Just because I’ve had x number of years experience working with children does not give me the authority to determine how parents should raise their children…every child is different and needs different things.

    Sometimes I get so puffed up about what I’m doing, and how great of a person I think I am, and then I have to stop and kick myself really hard for having those thoughts.

    Anyway, thank you for taking the time to read & for the input.
    I’m so excited for you and Karrie, and you are going to be such great foster/adoptive parents! 🙂 Love you both!

Leave a Reply

