Easters & Family & Flowers

This past week was filled with family – first my parents came to visit, and then my in-laws made the long trek to Pennsylvania from Florida.

As much as I love being independent and married, it is always so nice to see my parents (both sets) and to be taken care of just a little bit.

Both sets of parents are such blessings, and after everyone left, Caleb and I felt like they had taken a part of our hearts with them.

We may have shed a few tears. (Shh. It’s a secret. Don’t tell Caleb I told you.)

I had originally written a post about my feelings on Easter and Social Media holiday hype, but decided against posting it. Maybe I felt it was too judgmental?

I’m not really sure.

But here is my favorite Easter related photo & quote:

nacho

 “Do you not realize I have had diarrhea since Easters?”

Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures when my parents came to visit, but I will just assure you that fun was had.

We went to the Reading Terminal Market, and even visited the U.S. Mint! Coins are totally “in” right now.

We also consumed cannolis and other delicious Italian pastries, and it was overall a fantastic visit.

My dad was finally able to see our apartment (which I am very proud of, by the way. Tours are every weekday from 6 p.m. – midnight, but only if you bring us cookies), and it was really nice to spend time with my parents and not-so-little sister, listen to records, make jokes, and bond. Sadly, we eventually had to part ways, but Caleb’s parents arrived on Wednesday night. On Thursday, we went to a baseball game and froze:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I was freezing, but hey, my hair looked really great.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Phillies v. Braves.

  Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Classic Rocky.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

My TOMS & Rocky’s feet.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

A goat that I met in Lancaster. We had a great chat while he ate 25 cent food from my hand, and tried to bite my fingers.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We visited Gettysburg National Military Park and I met Abe’s bobble head, and learned all about the war.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The Valley Park Road trail.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We planted tomatoes, peppers, watercress, chives, and some other herbs. This is my new favorite yellow pot with white & violet flowers planted inside.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Finally, we explored Valley Forge National Park.

Today after classes I came home to find these beautiful flowers on our doorstep with a ‘Happy Easter’ note from our next-door neighbor:

neighbors

To say that today has been a great day is an understatement – I received a perfect score on my evaluation for my latest field experience lesson, and after having coffee & a doughnut in chapel, I was in a great mood. These flowers were just the icing on the cake. It’s funny how something as small as a flower could bring me joy, and I wonder how many people out there need something just as small to make their day seem worthwhile.

I constantly catch myself thinking about me. What do I need? What do I want?

But what does my neighbor need? What does that one crotchety old lady at Goodwill need?

What will make them see that they are significant and worth giving flowers to?

I hope everyone had a blessed Easter!

xo

-Kelly

One thought on “Easters & Family & Flowers

  1. Pingback: three little peppers |

Leave a Reply

