so it’s been a year

I love you and I like you.

It’s been one year and four days of wedded bliss.

One year and four days filled with Netflix marathons, crockpot chili, fried eggs, toast, mini vacations, failed (yet hilarious) romantic getaways, hikes, lazy Saturdays, and a whole heap of Trader Joe’s kettle corn.

I could not have asked for a better friend to share this year with.

This man that makes me laugh harder than anyone I know, and whose rendition of the Family Ties theme song will be heard by no one but I. He makes the best fried eggs, lets me cry over documentaries about whales, and tells me I’m beautiful even when I come home in my YMCA uniform, complete with baby snot and finger paint smudges.

This year has taught me so much about myself.

I’ve learned that I’m selfish, I take things too personally (sometimes), and I really really hate housework. I’ve learned a little bit more on how to communicate (I’m still learning), and that grocery shopping and cooking dinner seem like two very romantic things while dating, but in reality are just two expensive things that create more dishes to wash. Going out to eat is way more fun.

When Caleb and I got engaged, we heard mixed things about marriage.

Mostly, we heard: “Our first year was so tough, but it was definitely a….learning experience.”

And while we, like most couples, chuckled to ourselves and thought, “We got this. We are so ready for marriage. Now let’s go watch a movie and make out…” this piece of (often unsolicited) advice continues to ring true.

It’s a learning experience.

Learning how to live with someone that was brought up in a completely different way, and how not to kill each other in the process.

We are blessed, and I pray that this second year is filled with just as many adventures and episodes of Frasier as the first.

To celebrate this joyous occasion, we are adventuring to Montreal very early tomorrow morning.

Hopefully I will have some great pictures/food reviews to share. 🙂

Oh, and happy (almost) Fourth of July!

p.s. If you’re curious as to where the gif is from, go watch this clip. And then go watch every season of Parks and Recreation on Netflix. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q9PJOebnENY)

Leave a Reply

