m o n t r e a l

It’s official.

Caleb and I have mastered the art of long weekend trips.

In four days we: 

  • visited Saratoga National Historical Park
  • crossed the Canadian border (after an hour and a half wait)
  • navigated through the streets of Montreal and found our hotel
  • went to Mont Royal Parc, and climbed 400 steps to reach the top (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cM1bwePNDIk)
  • visited the Notre Dame Basilica of Montreal
  • visited Olympic Park, and went up to the top of the Montreal Tower (the tallest inclined tower in the world)
  • walked around the Old Port, and climbed to the top of the Clock Tower (192 steps)
  • we also ate Poutine at La Banquise…where Andrew Zimmern ate Poutine on his Montreal edition of Bizarre Foods
  • on Sunday, we went to mass at the Notre Dame Basilica, which also reminded me why I do not frequent Catholic services in my spare time, and also why I appreciate my personal relationship with God
  • Sunday was also the day we decided to bid adieu to Montreal, we Pricelined a hotel in Lake Placid, NY, and crossed the border once more

Our Poutine Review:

Caleb: disappointing.

Kelly: it was delicious. Because mine had bacon.

Of course, I also have to add that although we had a car during this trip, we walked everywhere, making our weekend even more incredible; incredible because we were able to stop whenever we pleased to appreciate the city, and incredible that our legs and feet still work.

 Field Notes on Montreal: 

– everything is in French

– there are a lot of hipsters

– everyone drinks…all the time

– food is expensive everywhere

– I want to learn French

– I want cheese

My favorite part of our time in Montreal was definitely the Notre Dame Basilica. Caleb tried to take my picture inside the basilica, but I felt awkward doing so, and promptly deleted the picture of myself standing there not knowing what to do with my arms. I looked at all of the other tourists visiting from various places around the world, and wondered if they felt the same way I did. If they were blown away by the beauty of this place like I was. I mean, just look at it:

There was a stillness and a reverence that accompanied this basilica, and I somehow felt that a picture of myself posing near the altar would ruin everything good and perfect about this place. When I mentioned the service in my list above, I was almost hesitant to add the part about remembering “why I do not frequent Catholic services in my spare time, and also why I appreciate my personal relationship with God…” I feel almost rude admitting these feelings, yet I couldn’t help but sit in that beautiful sanctuary on Sunday morning and wonder if the beauty becomes lackluster due to the routine of it all. At the same time, the service was entirely in French, and I wonder if I missed something inspiring or convicting.

By Sunday afternoon, we were ready to head back to the States, and after waiting over an hour to cross the border, we celebrated our return by swimming in Lake Placid, NY, and eating a large pizza in our EconoLodge hotel room.

As for pictures, here are a few of my favorites:

The Hudson River

Saratoga

Mont Royal Parc

Mont Royal Parc

Caleb // Olympic Park

The Old Port

This weekend, we are headed off to Upstate New York to visit my family / I am a bridesmaid in one of my dearest friend’s wedding. Caleb is also really excited because we’re going to Mr. Chicken, a dive in Watkins Glen that has the best chicken in all of Upstate. Pictures and stories to follow. 🙂

xo

-K

Leave a Reply

