new york | pictures & words

city city

nyc 3

nyc 2nyc 5nyc 6

nyc 7

nyc 9

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

nyc 4

This past weekend, Caleb and I took our last vacation/long weekend of the summer. We visited the Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island, ate a sicilian pizza at L&B Spumoni Gardens, and were able to spend time with my Aunt Cindy and four younger cousins (Emily, Luke, Aaron, and Baby Joy). 

I learned four very important things on this trip: 

1. Be nice to everyone – especially the man in charge of the entrance to the Statue of Liberty.

I left my photo ID at my grandparents’ apartment, but he still let me go up to the crown after seeing my ticket, and my Facebook profile page. Thanks again, Ryan the ticket man. You’re awesome.

2. Children will always have more energy than you.

I work 32 hours a week with young children, and let me tell you… just because a child is your cousin, is cute, and is well behaved, does not mean they won’t wear you the heck out. They will most likely also eat more pizza than you.

I came back tired, but very happy.  

3. The Lego store is a let down. But building with legos is SO much fun.

4. Making sauce with my Papa is something I wish I had done more when I was younger.

For me, this was probably the highlight of our time in the city. Papa is one of a kind, and anyone who meets him is impacted in some way. He is encouraging, supportive, giving, and makes the best sauce and meatballs. I woke up early on Saturday morning and followed him around the kitchen, watching him measure throw in handfuls of oregano in the pot, and even helped to make the meatballs. I hope that I’ll be able to recreate it on my own…but I can’t make any promises.

This time with my grandfather was so precious, and helped me remember why I love him so much. He claimed he doesn’t have patience, but he was a pretty great teacher this past weekend. : )

Hope your summer is ending well! 

-Kelly

 

p.s. Follow me on Bloglovin!

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12048507/?claim=53g4c2puxak”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

