i am more than my ______, but mediocrity won’t change the world.

I am on tumblr…a lot. And I often come across this mantra:

You are more than your GPA

You are more than a number on a scale

You are more than your debt, or your scars

You are more

I understand this, I really do.

I understand that it’s easy to think you aren’t good enough because you don’t have a 4.0 GPA, or even a 3.0 GPA. I know what it’s like to have to retake a teacher certification test multiple times because I can’t seem to comprehend basic math skills.

It’s easy to hate your body when the media bombards you with images of perfectly photoshopped women. 

And it’s so hard to stay motivated when you are attached to $80,000 in debt.

I also know:

am more than all of these things.

I am kind.

I am creative.

I am gentle.

I am thrifty.

But I will not use this as an excuse to be mediocre.

I will not become lazy and stop trying my very best to achieve the very best grades. 

I will not stop eating well, and drinking water, and exercising.

I will not stop budgeting, and saving money, and working extra babysitting jobs to pay off my student loans.

I will not confine myself to my living room, hiding away from the world because I struggle with the fear of failure.

I am destined for greatness because my Heavenly Father told me so.

I am a missionary, and will forever be used to spread the love of Christ, whether I am here in Pennsylvania, or adventuring through the jungles of Peru.

I will never settle for mediocrity simply because society thinks it is acceptable to do so.

And I will not use this mantra to accept any less than what I know I am capable of achieving. 

I am more. I am more. I am more.

And so are you.

5 thoughts on “i am more than my ______, but mediocrity won’t change the world.

  1. Beautifully written! Thank you for that encouragement 🙂 You use Tumblr?? Me too! haha

    I wanted to also let you know that I am so glad you’re a part of The Peony Project and even though we weren’t close when you attended vfcc, I hope to become blogger friends {and maybe real life friends too!} You’re such an encouraging, creative woman of God and I am very glad that you’re adding good things to the internet with your blog 🙂

    • Hey Natalie! 🙂

      I’m actually still attending VFCC! This is my last year. I would love to be both blogger & real life friends! I have a cozy apartment that I love to show off. 🙂

      Thank you for your kind words!

      • Oh really!! That’s awesome! I thought you graduated last year! 🙂 Yay we’ll have to meet up for coffee or tea sometime! (After this week because it’s already hectic) haha

      • Yeah! I’m excited to start my Senior Year. The end is in sight!

        I hear ya about it being hectic…I’m not looking forward to getting back into school work and classes, but definitely looking forward to seeing friends. I drop Caleb off at work every morning, and the campus is pretty dead.

        We definitely should get coffee/tea though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

