grateful heart monday

I recently joined The Peony Project, which is a group for bloggers to find community among other ladies that have a passion for Jesus. I am so thankful for this new group, and I’m really excited to discover how I can expand my blog through the concept of a blogging community.

Anyway…

Today I decided to try something called Grateful Heart Mondaya linkup with Ember Grey.

I really love the idea of being grateful…even when you want to be negative and eat away your feelings.

I like what Emily said in her post: no matter how big or small the thing is that my heart is grateful for, it is still valid. It’s easy to look down upon yourself, or to belittle your feelings just because someone might have it “better” or “worse” than you. It’s not fair to think that way, and we should always look for ways to encourage and build others up. It’s actually really very important…

So, here are a few things that I am grateful for this Monday. 

1. My job & my supervisors: I don’t thank them enough, and it’s easy to be negative when you don’t see results and changes right away. However, I can’t even begin to think how much stress they must be under trying to find new staff members, or trying to boost morale within a group of people that complain…a lot. I’m also thankful that I can take classes like Piloxing and Yoga for no charge. It’s been a huge blessing.

2. Freezer Meals: We froze meals for the first time about a month ago, and have continued doing so every two weeks. I cannot begin to tell you how grateful I am that I didn’t have to cook today when I came home from work. I just popped that pan of Baked Ziti in the oven, and we were good to go. 

3. Running water & Electricity: This past winter was pretty ridiculous, and at one point, we lost power for five days. It was romantic at first….snuggling under blankets with Caleb, and watching a movie on my dying laptop by candlelight. But eventually, it just became annoying. I’m grateful that I was able to come home to light, and to a shower.

4. Finally, I’m grateful for my goals, and my work ethic: I thought about not including this one in my list, but I really am grateful for these two things. I’m grateful that working at the YMCA is not the end, and that I know in my heart that this is just a season. I’m grateful that I was taught how to work hard, and that I can contribute something to our bank account, even though I only work part time during the school year. I’m grateful that I am finally graduating this year with a 3.7 GPA. I’m grateful because I have hope that I will make an impact on this world.

What are you grateful for today? 

8 thoughts on “grateful heart monday

  1. Hey Kelly!! I’m SO glad you linked up today! 🙂 I laughed over the romantic few days of not having electricity… that totally would have been me, and then OVER IT. 5 days sounds brutal! Congratulations on your upcoming graduation – you will most definitely have an impact on this world. That’s why you’re here 🙂

    • I’m so glad I linked up too! 🙂

      Haha – losing our power definitely got old very quickly. Thankfully I had a few friends that let us shower in their dorms, and my job let me store our food in a fridge in one of the daycare’s classrooms. God definitely blessed us through it all.

      Thank you for your kind words! I look forward to linking up again!

  2. Stopping by from The Peony Project! I have been doing Emily’s link up for months and I love it! There’s so much to be grateful for and it truly is the best way to start out your week.

Leave a Reply

