kindergarten

Little did I know that I would love my preschoolers as much as I do.

I have watched them grow, and learn, and discover.

I have seen them cry over squished ants, wood chips, and misunderstood words.

They have captured my heart with their curiosity & hilarious anecdotes, yet driven me crazy with their love of Frozen

(If I hear “Let it go” one more time…)

As they move onto Kindergarten, I envy the teacher that gets to guess the contents of Benjamin’s surprise lunch container, hear Jeannie tell stories about her big sister Amy, or teach every one of these littles how to read. 

I want them to stay little forever, but I know that’s not fair to the world.

It would be a shame to keep them from releasing their potential, ideas, and passions into this world.

It would be a great loss, because they are smart, and capable, and bright.

They are funny, and sweet, and compassionate.

And they feel with greater feeling than most adults do.

So, dear Kindergarten teacher,

Please remember to encourage my students.

Let them know they are important, creative, and that they will make an impact with whatever gifts and talents they possess.

                 Not every one of them will be the same, and some will make you wonder if your words are being heard. Because chances are, you might have to repeat yourself a couple hundred times.

Love them, cherish them, inspire them.

And most of all, don’t forget to hug them and ask them about their day. 

Because you might be the only one that does.

 

11 thoughts on “kindergarten

  1. Kelly, this is beautiful! I am going through the same thing with my little sis headed off to Kindergarten. I may or may not cry as she gets on the bus tomorrow. ❤

    • It’s like they’re my own children! Ahh, I feel like I’m going to be emotional tomorrow when I go into work. It won’t be the same without them!

    • Thank you, Cassie! 🙂

      I still can’t believe that September is only a few days away! Before I know it, the new preschool class will go to Kindergarten, and I’ll be emotional all over again.

  2. Pingback: Math |

Leave a Reply

