Grateful Heart Monday

grateful heart monday

I loved linking up with Ember Grey so much last week that I decided to do it all over again! I really want to continue doing Grateful Heart Mondays because let me tell you….I found that it was extra hard for me to be grateful today, and I would have much rather wallowed in my bad mood than put in the effort to be positive. But when I stopped & thought back on my seemingly “bad day,” it honestly wasn’t as bad as I had originally thought. 

So, for my second Grateful Heart Monday, here are two things that I am grateful for:

1. My friend Chelsie:

Chelsie and I have been best friends since high school, and I am so thankful that we have remained close. She was in my wedding last summer, and I was able to see her this weekend….over a year later! I hope that we’ll be able to see each other again soon. 

We made waffles together, went window shopping at KOP, spent a rainy day watching movies, and went into Philly where we ate Pho, got hit on by a shirtless Rocky impersonator, and got a free chocolate ice cream cone from the nice ice cream truck man.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

2. Creative Inspiration: 

On Saturday night I came across a post by Megan over at No Small Life blog. It was all about how sometimes what we want and desire most in our lives is far from where we actually are. And you know what? This is how I’ve felt for the past four years of my life. I have these lofty dreams of traveling the world, and entering the mission field, and yet, here I am, in Pennsylvania, starting another year of school. Sometimes I just feel stuck.

And then I was reminded that God wants me to follow Him no matter where I am, and that He can use me here in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania. I just need to be willing to give Him what I currently have: my talents, my time, my finances.

Megan also wrote about using what you have in your home to make it a new, fresh space. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I read this after visiting the shop West Elm, and drooling over all the beautiful furniture, centerpieces, owl salt & pepper shakers….oof the list goes on and on and on. I left the mall feeling discouraged, and jealous of people that have money to furnish their home.

I most definitely needed to be reminded that what I have in my hand, and in my home, is enough. 

Caleb and I have made our apartment cozy and beautiful, even while on a somewhat tight budget.

And you know what else? I can use my small space to show love and hospitality to others – I just need to be open and willing.

That Saturday, I raided through my closets, and found an old canvas square, paint, and a few brushes. 

I ended up creating this: 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 I’m so excited to hang it on our wall! 🙂 

What are you grateful for today? 

-Kelly

10 thoughts on “Grateful Heart Monday

    • Thanks! I kind of cheated and cut out the letters & modge podged them to the canvas, but hey, you gotta do whatcha gotta do. haha 🙂 Hope you have a great first day of classes!

  1. Ah oops, posted using my empty WordPress account haha. I forgot to ask, are you planning to “nest” in your new home? I’m thinking that when my future husband and I move into our first home, we won’t really decorate a lot or buy too much stuff since we might be moving out after over a year.

    By the way, since you mentioned hospitality, I’m so excited to feature your post on Thursday for the Koinonia Series! Woohoo!

    • I totally understand! It’s hard for me to “nest” sometimes because we’re planning to leave after I graduate next May…which is why we’ve put a hold on buying things for our apartment. When we first moved in we were obsessed with the show “American Pickers,” and so we went yard sale crazy and bought crates, bottles, and old advertising signs; we even had a category in our budget devoted to yard sale-ing. Then it hit us that we’re going to have to sell everything we don’t put into storage (and by storage I mean my parents’ house), so we stopped buying things. It’s tough because I want to nest, and I want to make it more our own, but I really am content with the way it is now.

      Yay! I’m so excited to be featured! I’m patiently waiting for August 28th. 🙂

  2. Kelly, you don’t even know how much this blessed my heart! So glad that my post was able to encourage your heart AND spark the creativity that turned into that beautiful piece of art! You did a GREAT job! Just shared your post on my No Small Life fb page. Hopefully, we can get some new eyes over to your blog 🙂

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! 🙂

      I really love the community and the inspiration that I’ve found through The Peony Project.

Leave a Reply

