grateful heart monday: fall break pictures & words (pt. II)

On Saturday, I wrote about my much anticipated weekend home, and a few fall traditions that Caleb and I have with my family.

This morning we had a late breakfast with my parents and then made our way back to Pennsylvania.

As I sit here in our apartment, I am so grateful for the weekend that I was able to share with my family, and that we made it back to Pennsylvania with zero car issues.

My last grateful heart linkup was all about how I couldn’t wait to see my parents, and I’m here to say that it definitely was everything I had hoped for.

  Let me share a little bit more about what made this weekend so wonderful: 

Sunday morning we went to church, and by the time we got home, my dad was awake (he works a long night shift) & was so excited to show off his new motorcycle.

This is a pretty big deal because he has been asking for a motorcycle for years, and was finally able to buy one a few months ago.

I’d like to think that I look pretty tough.
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Because our car had given us trouble on the way up, a good friend of the family said he would check it out. While we were at his house, his wife offered to take us to her mom’s garden to pick veggies. She had so many different kinds of vegetables to pick, but my absolute favorite was picking the carrots.

Look at how cute they are!photo carrots

Her mom is 91 years old, and is still able to garden! She gave me a few great gardening tips, and made it sound so easy. I hope that one day Caleb and I have a plot of land that we can use to grow vegetables, and live off the land.

*sigh* one day…

We also carved the pumpkins that we picked at the apple orchard. Kitty decided to join in on the fun.

(FYI: She’s not as great as Milo)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I carved Milo into my pumpkin:

photo pumpkin

And then, we had to go home.

 It’s always difficult saying goodbye to my family, but seeing the hills and the fall colors made it a little bit easier:photo going home

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Krispy Kreme also helped:

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m grateful for these trips because they remind me of how blessed I am to have such supportive and giving parents. They love so unconditionally, and support us even when we talk about moving half-way across the world.

I know that God is preparing my heart for the day when Caleb and I buy two one-way tickets to South Korea …. but for now, I am thankful that we live in the same time-zone, and that we are able to visit them even for short weekend visits.

wakeupeachdayGHMbutton_zps876d3a0d

4 thoughts on “grateful heart monday: fall break pictures & words (pt. II)

Leave a Reply

