start somewhere

I was so excited when my sweet friend Ashley approached me and asked if I would write a post for the #fireworkpeople blog tour.

Ashley is an amazing lady that has a passion for inspiring other women to follow after their dreams; no matter how big or small.

If you are a dreamer // creative // person in need of encouragement, I would definitely recommend checking out #fireworkpeople.

firework people

The topic of personal growth is so important to me. A few months ago I wrote about the danger of comparisons, and when I thought about what I would write for the blog tour, I decided to keep the conversation going. 

___________________________________________________________________________________

If you know me (or have read my blog), you know that I have big dreams, and I am so not afraid to talk about them.

When I talk to people about what I truly love & am most passionate about, something wells up from deep inside, and I become more of a talker than a listener – which is rare for me.

Shouldn’t we all be passionate about what we do in this life?

I want to travel the world, teach in foreign lands, and work alongside my husband to open an orphanage and school.

I want to love children that have been abandoned, and maybe even adopt one as my own.

And I want to wait about 6 more years to start a family, which in my mind is an entire feat in itself, and also the key to accomplishing everything I just listed. (Another conversation for another time)

But then I wake up, put on my purple YMCA staff polo shirt, and make yet another turkey and cheese sandwich for lunch.

My life has become a beautiful routine of waking up, working, and eating dinners on the couch. (I’m sure many of you can relate.)

Among the day to day, humdrum of life, it’s easy to lose sight of the bigger picture.

And it’s easy to despise the ordinary.

Those ordinary things that trip us up and become just another part of the routine.

Ordinary things that make us feel unnoticed and unappreciated.

Things that, if we allow them, begin to stifle our passion.

 It’s easy to forget your worth and purpose when the place where you currently reside seems to be the most insignificant and small.

And it’s easy to give up before you even start, because sometimes simply thinking about reaching that goal proves to be the most difficult of tasks.

Last week, on one particularly ordinary day, I opened my Bible and read Zechariah 4:10

“Do not despise these small beginnings, for the LORD rejoices to see the work begin.” 

If I were to be completely honest, I’d have to say that my dreams are too big.

If I woke up tomorrow & tried to start a school, or open an orphanage, or adopt a baby, I would fail.

But that is the beauty of small beginnings.” 

Small beginnings prepare you for the great, and give you the time necessary to become the one person that will carry out all those world-changing ideas.

Small beginnings force you to take a step back and think about where you want to go, who you want to reach, and how you’ll go about doing it.

The anticipation for bigger and better things stokes that fire in your soul, and drives you to keep moving … even when you want to throw in the towel and settle for less.

So, dear one: don’t despise the meager, or the ordinary, or the simple.

Start somewhere

We all start somewhere. 

Your somewhere is here.

It’s now.

It’s right in front of you. 

And it’s time to embrace it.

17 thoughts on “start somewhere

  1. Love this! Especially your writing on small beginnings, how right you are! What amazing things that you wish to acomplish too! You sound like a wonderful person 🙂 I will be writing my post for the #fireworkpeople on Thursday too!

    Neive xo
    theaussieosborns.blogspot.com

    • Thank you, Neive! I was just reading through your blog & you seem pretty wonderful yourself. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your #fireworkpeople post!

  2. Beautiful, beautiful post Kelly. I’m praying that every time you put on that purple polo, drive to the Y, go through another routine day, and wonder if you’ll be able to do the same thing tomorrow – that God would use those moments to speak to you and build up anticipation for the day when your God-given dreams become a reality. I’ve got to say, you are doing this season beautifully, my friend. You are so full of love, kindness, gentleness, and passion – you make every person feel cared about and that is such a gift.
    Thank you for sharing this!

    • Bonnie – I appreciate this so very, very much! Thank you for the encouragement! ❤ I would really love to continue getting to know you! YOU are filled with just as much love, kindness, gentleness, and passion, & you are such a wonderful momma. You inspire me. 🙂

    • Bethany – thank you for reading, dear! I’m so glad you stopped by.

      If you are anything at all like your blog, you must be very lovely. ❤

  3. Kelly, this was such an inspiring post! I actually really needed to hear this. In the middle of a crazy semester, I find myself wondering what in the world I’m doing. Zechariah 4:10 – perfect verse! Thank you for sharing. Love you!

  4. Pingback: Liebster Liebster! |

Leave a Reply

