“We Will Wait: an advent devotional guide”

we will wait

It is so easy to lose sight of what Christmas truly means – especially during times of spiritual/emotional drought, or of financial hardship. Thinking back over the last few years, I am ashamed to admit how cynical I’ve become; Christmas has become less magical, and I have struggled to find complete joy in a holiday I used to anxiously await year after year. Caleb says it will be different when we have children, but this year, I want to intentionally choose to change my mindset on Christmas. I don’t want to wait until we have little ones to see the joy and hope this holiday brings.

As I spent Thanksgiving with my in-laws (which I will hopefully be posting about in the next week), I was overwhelmed with thankfulness. This family has embraced me as their own, and every time I’m with them, they remind me that I belong.

Just the same, Christ has shown me that same love, and offers me an eternal hope of joy and freedom. He called me out of the darkness that was my sin, and gives me the chance each and every day to accept His love, and in turn, love others in the same way.

Although the Advent season has already begun (and I am very late in posting this), I would encourage you to check out We Will Wait: an advent devotional guide by Heather Boersma. You can purchase the e-book for $4.99, or follow along as she posts videos in the We Will Wait: an advent devotional journey facebook page.

Through her devotional, Heather shares her own unique and beautiful perspective on the hope, peace, joy, and love that we can find in Christ, and how we can get the most out of this Advent season.

One thought on ““We Will Wait: an advent devotional guide”

Leave a Reply

