Our final adventure of 2014 (pictures + words)

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

It is January 4, 2015, and I am just now sitting down to share the last leg of our Christmas journey. Like almost everyone else, Caleb and I ended 2014 with big goals for the New Year; a healthier lifestyle, a fast from television for the month of January to focus on each other and spend more time with God, and a plan to take more walks and time spent outdoors. Instead, we have been plagued by exhaustion & sickness. A New Year is always a great time to make life changes, but I am so thankful that change is not dependent upon a certain date or time of year. Tomorrow is a new day, and the perfect chance to start using our juicer, and finally find the energy to go food shopping for something other than beef flavored ramen.

I belong to a couple of online blogging groups, and in both, I have seen other writers choose a phrase/word/verse for 2015. I have been thinking a lot about what I’d like to focus on in the next 361 days, but nothing has really stood out to me. However, I have the next week off before I start student teaching, and am hoping that I’ll be able to come up with something profound. 😉

Anywho, here is a glimpse into our time spent in Upstate New York with my family.

As we headed out of Kentucky towards New York, we made a stop at Abraham Lincoln’s birthplace.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

This was the actual cabin that Lincoln was born in, and the entire site quickly became one of my favorite national parks. If you’re ever in the area, I would definitely recommend a quick stop.

Ten hours of driving, one bathroom break, and half a bag of beef jerky later, we made it to Horseheads, NY. We ordered pizza & opened belated Christmas presents. I also took some pictures of my parents’ cat, who likes to sit in the bathtub and drink water.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

My parents gave us the complete series of Seinfeld (YAY!!), a new food processor (DOUBLE YAY!!), and work clothes for both of us (TRIPLE YAY!!).

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

We gave Sophie a ukelele, and I had a lot of fun taking pictures of her with my new camera.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Whenever I share pictures of Sophie, most people tell me that we look identical. I always take that as one of the greatest compliments I could receive; my sister is beautiful, caring, compassionate, intelligent, brave, and strong. My parents are currently in the process of buying a new house, and with it comes new neighbors & a new school district. While I don’t know everything she’s feeling on the inside, outwardly she has accepted this new change with patience and grace, and for that, I beam with sisterly pride.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

That Monday, one of my dearest friends surprised me! Wendy was my very first college roommate, and even though we were roommates for only one year, we have stayed in contact over the years. Wendy just accepted an amazing nursing job & scored a beautiful apartment in Vermont. It was so nice to see her (and her mom) before she starts this new journey.

Tuesday was spent adventuring in Ithaca – one of my favorite cities.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Wednesday/New Year’s Eve was spent at the church I grew up going to. There was a time of food & fellowship (my dad’s chili stole the show), and then a short church service with special music.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

My lovely parents. 🙂
Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Then we all went home, played a board game, drank Sparkling Cider, and fell asleep at 11. We’re so old.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

We had originally planned on staying until Friday, but after being away from home for two weeks, we felt that leaving on Thursday afternoon would be best. Even though it’s never easy leaving my family, it was nice to return to the familiar comforts that our apartment provides. Milo was really happy that we were home, and promptly cuddled on the couch with us to watch his new favorite show, Friends.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

How did you spend the end of 2014?

12 thoughts on “Our final adventure of 2014 (pictures + words)

Leave a Reply

