Blogging for Books Review: Portlandia Edition

AO RIVER!

In honor of the newest season of Portlandia airing TONIGHT AT 10 PM on IFC (I am so ready for some Candice & Toni sketches), I finally wrote my second Blogging for Books review!

This time around, I wanted to try a cook book. The semester was coming to an end, and I really didn’t have time to sit down and read an entire book. That’s when I discovered the single best thing on the entire Blogging for Books website: The Portlandia Cook Book: Cook Like a Local.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

While I haven’t had a chance to try any of the recipes, this book has been so much fun to simply look at. Aesthetically, it is absolutely beautiful; fans of the show (like me) will love how each page incorporates a different character, and ties their quirky personalities in with every recipe. My personal favorite was the recipe for Garmin’s Crispy Pork Riblets (he’s a little guy!). There’s also a Guide To Picking a Table At a Restaurant by Kath & Dave, which has been super helpful, and is absolutely hilarious & perfect in every way.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetAlthough this cook book is chock-full of great Portlandia references, I will say that overall, the cookbook was slightly overwhelming. I didn’t know where to start because there was so much to look at. Every time I started seriously considering a recipe to make, I was really distracted by everything else going on. However, I would recommend any fans of the show to GO BUY A COPY RIGHT NOW, and soak it all in.

(Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review)

2 thoughts on “Blogging for Books Review: Portlandia Edition

Leave a Reply

