Day 4: Quote

may

I’m always looking for new things to write about. I’ve read plenty of blogging advice from fellow bloggers that include “writing posts ahead of time,” and “write every day!” Well, let me tell you – both of those can be incredibly difficult. The goal of becoming a full-time blogger was quickly thrown out the window when I realized how much work it takes. And the whole idea of monetizing my blog? No thanks. I’m happy with my small (and free) little internet space. I suppose I’m just a little lazy.

However, the lovely Milan who blogs over at M.D.W. recently started a “blog every day in May”series. The prompts are from the Story of My Life blog, and are really great (and interesting) compared to some of the other “blog every day” prompts I’ve seen floating around. It’s been great to read Milan’s posts, and to get to know her on a deeper level. You should also check out her posts about her film projects because she’s pretty talented. 🙂

Because I don’t have school to complain about, and I have been posting too many pictures of birds, I decided to join in on the “every day in May” posts. I’m starting a little late, and might go back to write the first three posts, but we’ll start here and pretend May only has 28 days.

May 5th: Favorite Quote

 Failure is a bruise, not a tattoo.

-John Sinclair

Failure is scary. It’s uncomfortable. I recently discovered how competitive I really am – actually, I just finally admitted to myself that I’m competitive. I’m usually a very passive person, willing to follow along, and work behind the scenes. I’m the person who does all the work for group projects, but only complains about it on tumblr.

 However, when I know I’m good at something, and there are others involved, I begin to care way too much. Because of this, failure is not an option. It can’t be, right? Why would I allow myself to fail, when I can try my best and be Number One?

If I fail, and believe me, I have more than once, I feel as if I have been branded, and it is on display for all the world to see.

But our failures are temporary – and a chance to learn from mistakes, and to improve upon our current state of existence.

They are merely bruises that seem to get worse before they get better, but eventually fade over time.

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Quote

Leave a Reply

